Cart 0

BSO_Season 4 2019_650 x 250_image only.jpg

Welcome to 2019 Season 4:


Brisbane City Hall, 3rd November at 3pm 

SIBELIUS Valse Triste, Sad Waltz
BEETHOVEN Triple Concerto

Paul Dean Conductor
Steven Emmerson Piano
Michele Walsh Violin
Trish O’Brien Cello

Please join us for our last concert for 2019,


Season 4: The Music

Sibelius Valse Triste

Valse triste is a short orchestral work originally part of incidental music Sibelius composed for his brother-in-law Arvid Järnefelt's 1903 play Kuolema (“death”). The music was an instant success and has remained a much-loved part of the concert repertoire ever since. Its simplicity and gracefulness mask the genuinely revolutionary nature of Sibelius’s music, that sense of unbroken development which gives his music an absolutely unique quality of organic growth towards a wholly satisfying and emotionally intense conclusion.

Beethoven’s Triple Concerto

We believe Beethoven wrote this concerto with his teenage pupil, the Archduke Rudolf of Austria, in mind.  Rudolf was an accomplished rather than virtuosic pianist, but the violin and cello soloists both require a dazzling technique which Beethoven allows to support rather than overshadow the piano part in this very unusual concerto. Managing 3 solo instruments in the form that Beethoven adopted posed considerable technical difficulties of allowing each soloist to shine while keeping the concerto within manageable bounds.   

Brisbane audiences are familiar with the musical partnership of conductor Paul Dean and cellist Trish O’Brien, who now team up with well-known Brisbane musicians, Stephen Emmerson and Michele Walsh for this romantic and dramatic concerto.

Shostakovich Symphony No 5

Symphony No 5 is a deeply personal work in which Shostakovich expressed (subtly) his contempt for the “pseudo folk heroic” triviality endorsed by the communist regime.  The last movement, it is true, appears optimistic, but as his good friend the cellist Rostrapovich described, “it is a forced march to a hollow victory”. The composer himself wrote, “The rejoicing [of the last movement] is forced, created under threat… It’s as if someone were beating you with a stick and saying, “Your business is rejoicing, your business is rejoicing,” and you rise, shaky, and go marching off, “our business is rejoicing.”  What kind of apotheosis is that? You have to be a complete oaf not to hear that.” 

Season 4: The Artists


Paul Dean

Brisbane born and bred clarinettist Paul Dean is widely regarded as one of Australia’s foremost musicians in his multiple capacities as soloist, recitalist, chamber musician, composer and Artistic Director.  He currently holds the position of Head of Winds at Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University.  


Trish O’Brien

Tasmanian born cellist, Trish O’Brien, has performed worldwide including Carnegie Hall, Royal Albert Hall, the Kennedy Centre, Guildhall, Cambridge University, in Portugal, Germany, Amsterdam, Japan, Taiwan, Switzerland and more.  She is currently the co-Artistic Director of Ensemble Q and cellist of the Endeavour Trio.


Michele Walsh

Michele graduated from the University of Adelaide and was the national winner of the ABC Instrumental and Vocal competition in her graduating year.  She has studied in London and performed extensively in the UK, France and Austria, and also appeared as soloist with Australian Orchestras. Michele is currently the Head of Strings at the Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University.


Stephen Emmerson

Stephen is one of the most in demand musicians in Australia.  He performs regularly with orchestras and in chamber ensembles and gives masterclasses and lectures.  As a pianist he has performed around Australia, New Zealand, Asia and the Pacific. Stephen is a full-time staff member of the Queensland Conservatorium where he teaches music literature and performance related courses.

Thanks to Five Star Cinemas for their valuable support with this event. Click on the logo to check them out…


Bass small.png
we're looking for double bass players...

want to play great music with a great bunch of people?

Drop us a line at...